A week in the sun

OK, I’ll admit, life since submitting my dissertation has been a BLAST (it might also have something to do with the fact that I’ve also had two weeks off work…)
Don’t get me wrong, I love my academic life, but it’s always a time of intense stress meeting a big deadline, and it felt as though summer was just passing me by. Our garden was in desperate need of TLC, Ben was taking the dogs out for fun walks whilst I stayed home and typed in the evenings…

So you’ll forgive me for being over joyed to have it all done with for now!
We’ve spent most of this week radically working over the garden (well, parts of it anyhow) and I’ll post more about that at a later date (mainly because I forgot to take “before” photos and I’m hoping my mum has some…)

But today we had a day off from garden work, and took a long walk along the Sandlings path through Sizewell and the Kenton “hills” (I say “hills” because there is no such thing as hills in Suffolk…)

Flossy takes a breather from running around in batshit crazy mode

Flossy takes a breather from running around in batshit crazy mode

Aside from the actual walking (and it was HOT and I am UNFIT), I also had great fun finding mushrooms and collecting flowers and foliage to press. We also sat and had a picnic on the beach beneath the shadow of the Sizewell B dome, where I found two brilliant bits of driftwood, but no sea glass – I honestly don’t think the East coast is that great for sea glass!!

Fairly confident this is a bay bolete

Fairly confident this is a bay bolete

Again - fairly confident these are common puffballs. I'm no mycologist, just a passionate amateur.

Again – fairly confident these are common puffballs. I’m no mycologist, just a passionate amateur.

Spotted some lovely juvenile swans. I wasn't going to get any closer, because whilst they are beautiful, they scare me shitless

Spotted some lovely juvenile swans. I wasn’t going to get any closer, because whilst they are beautiful, they scare me shitless

Flossy has a chill out on the beach (you know, before recommencing batshit mode with her sister)

Flossy has a chill out on the beach (you know, before recommencing batshit mode with her sister)

And no photo-update is complete without Jessie investigating the camera with her massive schnozz!

And no photo-update is complete without Jessie investigating the camera with her massive schnozz!

When we got home, we had ice cream and sat in the sun identifying mushrooms and pressing plants. Now the pups and I are chilling on the sofa, absolutely wiped out. PHEW!

How are you enjoying the last dregs of summer?

x

Leave a Reply

