2012

Hellloooooo, blogosphere! Remember me?
I know, I know. I’ve been a neglectful blog-mother. I’m sorry. I don’t know about you, but I’ve been MIGHTY busy. New county, new home, new job, new life… Same old me. And Ben is still here 😉

But yes: HAPPY NEW YEAR! I’ve had some tough “moments” this year, and to be perfectly honest, I’m getting a bit sick of hearing my own whinging. Looking back on last New Year’s 1st Jan post, a lot still applies:

“So, [2011] is gone. Like so many days and years, it is in the past, now merely a memory. Words on a page, photos in the album. Some days, I mourn the days that we’ve lost, but really, we haven’t really lost them. We’ve lived them, and we have many more days ahead to continue living.

So rather than mourn what has passed, perhaps it’s time to look optimistically to the future. I spend an awful lot of my time moping and burying my head (please see my official job description in the blog header), but I have, over the last couple of years, been trying to reassess my life and get some perspective. I’m sure many of you know how difficult it is to break habitual destructive behaviours, but where there’s a will, there’s a way!

So let’s see the New Year as a chance for a fresh start.”

My New Year’s Resolutions from last year… didn’t really work out. Let’s review:

1. I have not lost weight. I’ve gone from last 1st Jan’s 12st1.5lb to a mighty 13st. Please do not adjust your sets.

2. The exercise… Well, no. I jogged for like… two weeks, then realised it doesn’t suit me. AT ALL. However, moving to the countryside has lead to more countryside walks, and in warmer weather will encourage cycling and swimming. Watch this space.

3. Eat healthy? Sort of. Less so these past few weeks due to the seasonal blow out, but over all we have rediscovered vegetables, which can be no bad thing.

4. Budget. Well, I wouldn’t be still standing if I hadn’t managed to squeeze my finances. Go me.

5. Redecorate the flat. I don’t live there any more! Hurrah!

6. Study hard. I could have studied harder, but still managed to come out of my MSc with a 2:i (3% off a first. I have mixed feelings. Not discussable here).

7. Forgive myself? Unfortunately, still an unmastered skill. I’ll keep working on it.

 

And this New Year? Well, one of my seniors at work today suggested making wishes, or hopes. for the year ahead, rather than resolutions. I thought it was a lovely idea, so with that in mind:

1. I hope to continue furthering my education, with possibly some NVQs or a diploma in counselling or mental health care

2. I hope to do some volunteering – I miss my work with SANE

3. I wish people would have their voices heard, and that people would listen more compassionately

4. I wish an assistant psychology post would open up in Waveney, and take me on board for the role…

5. I wish I could give a doggy a home 🙂

6. I wish all my friends and family luck, health and happiness. Cheesey, I know, but now more than I ever, I realise how much you all mean to me.

 

So there we go. All a bit vague and swirly, yes, but I hope that I can make this year a good one.

AH, OH, BEFORE I FORGET. The books of 2011! You remember the Book List, right? Well, here is the 2011 Book Round-up:

I’ve only read a measly 18 books (12 non-fiction, 6 fiction) this year. I know, I know. But remember how I was studying for finals, doing a dissertation, and then moving house? Poor excuses, maybe. Poo to you, sir.

Well, I got a lump of Amazon vouchers as part of a Christmas present, so I’ve loaded up my Kindle and am raring to read. I’ll see you in a year to prove that 2011 was just a rare howler, reading wise. Here’s the list (favourites are show with an asterisk):

  1. 01.2011 – *V S Ramachandran – Phantoms in the Brain (nf)
  2. 02.2011 – Neris Thomas & India Knight – Neris and India’s Idiot-Proof Diet (nf)
  3. 03.2011 – Carl Rogers – On Encounter Groups (nf)
  4. 02.2011 – *Terry Pratchett – Unseen Academicals (f)
  5. 03.2011 – Matt Ridley – The Red Queen: Sex and the Evolution of Human Nature (nf)
  6. 03.2011 – Adam Phillips – Darwin’s Worms (nf)
  7. 03.2011 – *Ben Goldacre – Bad Science: Quacks, Hacks, and Big Pharma Flacks (nf)
  8. 04.2011 – Prof. Robin Dunbar – The Trouble with Science (nf)
  9. 04.2011 – Jeff Potter – Cooking for Geeks: Real Science, Great Hacks, and Good Food (nf)
  10. 05.2011 – Susan Greenfield – Id (nf)
  11. 11.05.2011 – Rudyard Kipling – The Man Who Would Be King (f)
  12. 29.07.2011 – Jack London White Fang (f)
  13. 02.08.2011 – Richard Mabey –  Food for Free: A Fantastic Feast of Plants and Folklore (nf)
  14. 07.08.2011 – Steven Johnson – Everything Bad is Good for You (nf)
  15. 12.08.2011 – Patrick Bateson & Paul Martin – Design for a Life (nf)
  16. 16.11.2011 – Terry Pratchett – Snuff (f)
  17. 20.11.2011 – Terry Pratchett – Wintersmith (f)
  18. 24.12.2011 – *Robin Hobb – Assassin’s Apprentice (f)

How about you? Read any good books lately?

2 thoughts on “2012

Leave a Reply

