Deadlines

I hate deadlines. This is the time of year where lots of people I know are stressing about coursework, essay deadlines, dissertations, and final exams.

I am no different. Luckily my dissertation is not due for several months yet, but that doesn’t mean I’m not busy – I have a project deadline next week, and seen exam questions to plan, as well as general revision for my finals. Oh, and did I mention I have to have a game plan for what lies after my MSc? Hmm. I have a few things in mind, but nothing certain yet, so you’ll have to wait on that front.

image

Yes, I do have Brian Cox on my wall.

Don’t panic, folks – we’ve been working hard for this, and there’s no point losing your head. If you’ve been attending lectures and doing at least SOME reading, then it only takes a bit of knucking down now to make it all pay off.

Set yourself a revision timetable if you’re crap at “finding the time” – that way you’ll have no excuse.

Remember to take breaks – there is no point studying solidly and making yourself miserable.

At the same time, remember when to say “no” – you can’t drop everything every time a friend rings you up and invites you for a drink. This is especially true of your friends who are NOT in full time education – they may have forgotten how important these next few months are for you. Remind them that this studiousness is only temporary, and you’ll catch up another time! It’s not the end of the world.

And finally: it’ll be over soon! Your hard work WILL pay off, I swear. You’ll feel good once it’s all over.

If you’re worried about exams, or are suffering with study stress, take a peek at TheSite.org – they offer some simply and practical advice about looking after yourself over the exam season.

Good luck!

2 thoughts on “Deadlines

  1. There’s a bit in one of the Red Dwarf books about Rimmer making beautiful revision timetables and spending weeks painstakingly painting each square with watercolours, the colours of which became bolder and more urgent as the exams approached, and of course never actually revising anything. I love making revision timetables SO MUCH but I always worry that that will be me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

