Geek Chic

I’m waiting for my trial frames to arrive.

Yes. I’m getting glasses.

It’s been a long time coming, if I’m honest. I’ve always sort of expected that I’d eventually need glasses – I have a lifestyle that demands I rock the geek chic.

Even the optician agreed – I spend a lot of time reading or in front of one screen or another. The result? Eye strain. Not severe, but enough to justify reading glasses. In fact, it was the persistent one-sided headaches that I was experiencing (we’re talking several days in a row) that lead me to the opticians for a well over-due eye test.

I have a sort-of lazy left eye – only needing +0.25, but also needing a prism (what the hell?)

So I filled out an HC1 form (as I’m a full time student, help with NHS fees would be a god-send). But no – apparently Ben earns a bit too much for me to qualify for any support with NHS fees (good luck getting any help with NHS fees, people). So off I went, with my prescription, to GlassesDirect (another good option I’ve been recommended is SightStation). Glasses Direct offer unlimited Home Trials – for a £5 deposit (refunded if you buy glasses later on), you can have 4 different frames sent to your home, for you to try on for fit. Mine should be here today. Eek.

I’ll let you know what I think of them. But for now? Here is one of the sets I’m expecting –

Stupidly excited.

4 thoughts on “Geek Chic

  1. We can be speccy reading nerds together 🙂
    To be honest, reading glasses are a pain in the arse. I’m tempted to get one of those strings to carry the damn things around my neck so that when I encounter things to read (packages, menus, fliers etc) in the outside world I can go BAM!GLASSES! rather than fumble about in my bag for half an hour.

    Pictures of your glasses when they arrive, y/y?

    Like

Leave a Reply

