Crafty: Stitch & Craft Show 2011

Yesterday, bleary-eyed from Wednesday’s late night, I made my way to Kensington Olympia to meet my mum and her friend Jill. But this wasn’t any old ladies’ get together – we were going to Olympia 2 to attend the 2011 Stitch & Craft Show. Oh yes.

From fighting our way through the doors (I have never seen so many ladies “of a certain age” gathered in one place before – it was surreal) we were greeted with a Santas Grotto of craftiness. Threads, patterns, gadgets, yarns as far as the eye could see. We arrived just before 11. We didn’t leave until 3pm. I spent over £50. Arrrrgh…

But I could have spent so, so much more.

The stalls were simply amazing – so many beautiful colours, so many amazing, inspirational projects. You really have to see it to believe it.

But the highlights?

Well, first off, my mum went all giddy when she had the chance to meet her hero, Jane Greenoff (who was lovely, and had AWESOME hair). I’m an idiot, and didn’t take a photo of them. Very, very gutted.

Secondly: GIANT KNITTING.

Oh my.

And finally – I got to meet one of MY heroes. Mr X Stitch. SQUEAK.

I first became aware of Mr X Stitch via Craftster. Once upon a time, I produced some sweary tea towels (NSFW) and they became Mr X Stitch’s “Craftster Pick Of The Week”. I was honoured, to say the least.

And to discover that he was at S&C yesterday was…. Awesome. I tried not to be too star-struck. Fail. He gave me a sticker (I ❤ Mr X Stitch – it’s on my thread tin now). He let me have a photo with him. It’s true – I do ❤ Mr X Stitch.

Stitch&Craft is on for the next few days (til 5pm on Sunday) – so what are you waiting for!? Tickets are available on the door (£10, or £9 concessions, or £4 for children). Go go go! Find out more here.

2 thoughts on “Crafty: Stitch & Craft Show 2011

Leave a Reply

