Streatham Knitters

Last night, fortuitously coinciding with International Women’s Day, saw the first gathering of the Streatham Stitch’n’Bitch group (we plan to come up with a better name… Any suggestions?)

I was a little nervous: I’ve never been to a SnB before, and these were a load of ladies I’d never met before. In fact, in my 2 and half years living in London, this is the first time I’ve been to a social gathering at which I knew NO ONE.

But I needn’t have been nervous – the handful of ladies that at attended were lovely and incredibly cool.

We met at Perfect Blend (opposite Streatham Hill station) – Zoe of SWCraftClub had booked us a table near the bar (perfect!) for us to gather around and share our projects.

We were of mixed abilities, but that was of no consequence – we sat round, had a drink, knitted and chatted. Amongst a group of relative strangers, we were very relaxed: knitting (and Streatham!) put us on level ground.

There were a variety of projects on the go – a scarf, a sock, a vintage cardigan, and even a knitted tie!!

And me?

I’m still working on that bloody jumper…

The Streatham knitters will meet every fortnight – the next meeting will be at Perfect Blend, at 7:30pm on the 22nd of March. If you want more info, please feel free to get in touch with Zoe at SWCraftClub. She has a Blog, Twitter, and a Facebook page.

4 thoughts on “Streatham Knitters

  1. Hey Astrid,

    What a lovely review of our first meet. I completed the tie yesterday evening when I got home. Presenting it to the fella tonight – fingers crossed he likes it.

    A potential name for us has been suggested by my mother: Knit wits…. let’s see what everyone thinks on the 22nd!

    V

    Like

    • Well that was the “first draft” which turned out to be way too big, so I had to take it apart & start again! Devastating.

      Making good progress on the new one though 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

