Food: Glühwein

OK, drink, not food. But it is most definitely cold out there! It’s time for some mulled wine (known as Glühwein in Germany – it’s a cool word). I made my first batch of mulled wine over the weekend, as temperatures plummeted. There is nothing quite like mulled wine to cut through the chill in your bones. Yes, you can get a mug of mulled wine in Hyde Park and what not, but it’s a lot cheaper just to make your own. And very satisfying!

I could have gone out to buy a bottle of cheap red and an orange, but I couldn’t face leaving the house again, so I just worked with what I had: a bottle of my dad’s home made light red wine (made with Sussex grapes – delicious!).

Oh, you want some? Too bad: we drank it all (gets you squiffy quick!) so you’ll just have to make some of your own 🙂 The recipe is just guidelines: tweak sugar and spice to your liking. Some recipes suggest stirring in some sloe gin, but it’s alcoholic enough for me already, thankyouverymuch. You might be less of a lightweight. I leave the decision up to you.

You will need:

  • A bottle of red wine. It doesn’t have to be expensive!
  • Some smooth orange juice – half a glass?
  • Approx. 60g light brown sugar (adjust to taste)
  • A stick of cinnamon
  • Half a dozen cloves
  • 1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
  • Other spices, if you have them!

Cooks away!

  1. Pretty much a one step pony. Tip EVERYTHING into a saucepan. Put the lid on. Heat through – DO NOT BOIL. Just enough for the sugar to dissolve. Simmer for about 10 mins, until it’s nice and hot and the spices have a chance to permeate the liquid.
  2. And that’s it. Just pour in to mugs, and drink. If you don’t drink the lot in one evening (hah!) then just put the lid on the saucepan and leave it for another evening. When you come back to it, you can just decant into mugs and microwave it hot 🙂

ENJOY! For me, this is THE drink for winter. No competition.

 

 

 

Image credits: I found this pic on several websites, so I have NO idea where it’s originally from.

2 thoughts on “Food: Glühwein

  1. Paul LOVES Gluhwein. I find I can only drink one glass of mulled wine and after that it’s too warm/sweet for me. I agree that it is the drink of the season though, cant get more festive really!

    xxx

    Like

    • Oh, I’m fairly sure I could drink myself into a coma with it. That, or hot spiced cider. God, I love winter!!

      O.O I still have a bottle of ginger cordial. That is amazing hot, too. Argh, spoiled for choice… Might have to pick up a bottle of red today!

      Like

Leave a Reply

