Food: Lazy Brunch

I had a conversation with Angharad recently about scrambled eggs. I have no idea what brought us to this topic, but we got there. She said that she could never be bothered with scrambled egg first thing in the morning, so was surprised to hear that I make scrambled egg, fuss free, in the microwave. As I briefly related the recipe, she declared that she was coming to mine for breakfast.

I have just had a helping of said scrambled eggs – long day today, I’m not feeling top notch, so I thought a hearty breakfast was in order.

What’s the secret? Well, this time, you get to thank my Pa! He used to make scrambled egg like this for me when I was a kid, and I’ve been making it this way ever since. Thanks, Pa 🙂

You will need:

  • 2 eggs (per person)
  • A handful of grated cheese – mature cheddar works best, but please feel free to improvise
  • A splash of milk
  • Some ground black pepper
  • Mustard – use as much as you are happy with. I use Coleman’s mustard powder, but any mustard would do. I guess you could use chilli if you prefer, or wasabi paste if you’re mental
  • TOAST

The beans are optional. My dad used to do scrambled eggs on ham on toast, but I have no ham in the fridge. I assume you know how to heat up beans. I add some curry powder for “pep” but again, this is entirely optional. You know what you like, eh?

Cooks away!

  1. I start by heating up the beans in the microwave – they stay hot long enough, and I only have the one microwave (dunno about you)
  2. Whilst the beans are on the go, crack your eggs into a pyrex jug (or other microwaveable container). Throw in the pepper, mustard, milk, cheese, and whatever you fancy for “pep”, and mix it all together thoroughly (a fork works best for this)
  3. Once the beans have “pinged”, take them out and pop them to one side. Put your jug of egg mixture in for one minute on full power (and stick your bread in the toaster)
  4. Give the eggs another good stir with the fork to break them up, then back in for another minute
  5. This may be enough – give the eggs another stir (they’ll continue to cook under their own heat). If you are worried that they’re still to runny (you might have used large eggs, or are a wuss) then pop them in for another 20 seconds or so
  6. Toast, beans, egg, VOILÀ.

Enjoy. That didn’t take long, did it?

 

5 thoughts on “Food: Lazy Brunch

    • Oh absolutely – makes for a quick and easy meal 🙂 I usually have all the ingredients in the house, and it’s better than a bag of crisps 😉

      Let me know how it goes! Enjoy

      Like

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Food: Lazy Brunch « Unravelled -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: 100th post – not a big deal for many, but for lazybones like me, it is!! « Fun @ Wrok

  3. Pingback: 100! « Unravelled

Leave a Reply

