Food: Cooking lamb by wine-light

Nigella, eat your heart out. I, too, can raid the fridge of random bits and produce tasty loveliness.

Yea, I can throw stuff in a pan and get something edible out of it, too. Usually, I just make up stir fries, or on the odd occasion, I might follow some convoluted recipe (which turns out ok, but it was way too much work, so we won’t do it again, will we darling?) But, add wine, and I suddenly get this mad belief that I am a Really Good Cook. When I am in one of these moods, I will cook something a bit more Mad, and it will probably take several hours. But you know what? I can vaguely remember what happened on Wednesday night, so perhaps you want a glass of wine right now, and you fancy giving it a go, too…

Wine Inspired Lamb Tagine. Thing.

You will (probably) need:

  • 3 or 4 boneless lamb chops – diced
  • 1 large brown onion – finely diced
  • 5 cloves of garlic – finely diced, or even minced if you like mincing (loool)
  • A good tbsp of Lebanese 7 spice
  • Some red chilli flakes – as with all my recipes, use as much as you’re comfortable with
  • 5 of those frozen spinach “pellets”
  • 1 red pepper – diced
  • A handful of shredded cabbage
  • A handful of red grapes
  • A large glass of red wine – you’re allowed to drink the rest of the bottle

Let me explain how this came about (aside from the wine thing) – I am not much of an eater of fruit. I have just never gotten on with fruit that well. I don’t get the urge to eat fruit. Some is too much of a fight (oranges are a prime example) and most of it can mislead you – like the one sour grape in the bunch being enough to put you off all of the rest. But I keep trying to incorporate it into my diet – I buy fruit and mostly eat it. However, I have been carrying around the same box of grapes for over a week now. And I hate throwing fruit out. So, I thought to incorporate them into something I DO like: a hot meal.

OK, anyway:

Cooks away!

  1. Heat some oil in a big ol’ pan, then throw in the lamb, onion, garlic and Lebanese spice. Jostle it in the pan a bit, so the meat and onion is thoroughly covered in spice. Brown off the meat (brown is good!) for about… Oh, I have no idea. Some minutes.
  2. Add in a your chilli – as much or as little as you like. Again, jostle. Hurrah!
  3. Chuck in the grapes – give the pan a good shake and cook for about another 5 mins
  4. Pour over that big glass of wine. Hopefully, you didn’t drink it. Come on – you had the rest of the bottle for that! Sheesh. Turn the heat down to a gentle simmer, and go off and do something else. I actually forgot about the stew at this point, and read my book for about an hour, I think. I’d advise giving it the occasional stir. If it looks a bit dry, pour on more wine or some stock.
  5. Right, once you’re bored/super hungry/think the lamb might be tender enough, throw in the frozen spinach. You’ll obviously need to cook further until this has thawed out.
  6. Throw in the cabbage and the red pepper, and cook for a further 5 minutes, so that the cabbage is wilted and the whole thing is heated through.
  7. Serve with rice. Yay!!

If I do any more drunken cooking, I’ll let you know. If it’s good of course. If I don’t burn things. Yay!

Image credits: anaemic photo of food is very much my own

One thought on “Food: Cooking lamb by wine-light

  1. Pingback: 100! « Unravelled

Leave a Reply

