Food: Nasi Goreng

OK, don’t think I’m escaping hard blogging by just posting up another recipe. You like my recipes, right? I’m a miserly student, so my food is mostly cost-effective. But I love food, so it’s mostly tasty, too! Double whammy of greatness.

So, why another recipe, so soon? It’s because I am so terribly busy, me. OK, not strictly true. I’d probably be less “busy” if I used my time more effectively, rather than floating in and out of tasks, via Facebook and Twitter (this problem needs addressing). Also, could someone bless me with the ability to read quickly?

Anyway, on to the food. This is another store cupboard miracle – you don’t to follow the recipe exactly, just throw in veggies that you’ve got clogging up the fridge. And if, like me, you like meat in stuff: go on, be my guest, chuck some in.

You will need:

  • 300g long grain rice (you can use left over rice from last night’s take away if you really fancy. Gwaaaan…)
  • 2 eggs, beaten (so tempting to try this with big ol’ goose eggs!)
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 2 onions, sliced finely
  • 2 red chillis, thinly sliced – although temper it to your tastes, by all means
  • 1 sweet pepper – yellow or red, simply because I don’t like green ones
  • 2 medium sized carrots, julienned (ok, cut them into matchsticks. I use my mandoline!)
  • 4 spring onions, shredded

Make it!

  1. OK, this has become my most favouritist way to make rice. Stick your rice into a wok (or deep frying pan), and pour on a pint of water. Bring it to the boil, then let it cook away on a simmer until all the water has been absorbed. Then, simply turn out onto a plate and allow it to cool.
  2. Next up, heat a splash of cooking oil in your wok (it’s fine if there’s still a few grains of rice in there – won’t kill you. Don’t bother using a clean wok – just makes more washing up later)
  3. Pour your eggs in, and scramble them. Take them out and set them aside.
  4. You have a blender, right? If not, no problem – just chop stuff finely. But if you DO have a blender (or pestle&mortar, I guess) whizz up the garlic together with half your chilli and half your onion into a paste.
  5. Heat another splash of oil in the wok (again) and fry your paste for about a minute.
  6. Add the rest of your onion, chilli and vegetables (except the spring onions) and stir fry for about 2 minutes.
  7. Chuck in your rice and stir fry for another 3 minutes.
  8. Stir in a good glob of proper dark soy sauce, your spring onions and the egg, then fry a bit more until it’s heated right through.
  9. Eat it quick, before someone else asks for some! Should serve two, but I’m pretty certain I could eat the lot on my own.
One thought on “Food: Nasi Goreng

  1. Pingback: 100! « Unravelled

Leave a Reply

