Baking with dinosaurs

A full English breakfast is an excellent remedy to a night out – well, we didn’t really drink much (I think I had one alcoholic drink actually at the club!) but it’s nice to have a fry up nonetheless. I made a breakfast of KINGS (everything I make is “of kings” damnit) for my house guests: it had pretty much everything. Bacon, black pudding, beans… Other things. I even attempted fried bread, and Sas and Ben ate it, so it must have been ok.

And then? Well, Sas and I did some baking. Well, Sas did all the hard work: she is a champion biscuit maker. I thrust recipes upon her, and dough she did mix.

Unfortunately, the first dough we made needed 2-3 hours in the fridge before cutting. We’re impatient, so we made another dough that could be cut faster. This dough is for my mum’s “Valentine or Swedish Hanging Biscuits”. Mum doesn’t really like the taste of them (I do!) but they are robust enough to be threaded onto ribbon and hung on the Christmas tree, and last for weeks without going stale.

Oh, you want to make some? Fair enough…

 

You will need:

  • 230g margarine (I used unsalted butter. I always do. Feel free to do so also)
  • 230g dark brown sugar
  • 2 egg whites
  • 450g plain flour
  • 1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 1.5 teaspoons cinnamon
  • pinch of ground cloves

OK, you know what? With the spices, be inventive. If you want vanilla biscuits, be my guest. My mum put “ginger optional” on the recipe, but didn’t say how much. I really don’t think it matters too much. I don’t have any ground cinnamon for example (I sent Ben out to buy cinnamon, and sticks are fine by him, apparently), so I used a combination of “mixed spices”, ground nutmeg and ground cloves. Measurements were very approximate.

Make them!

  1. Cream the margarine/butter and sugar together
  2. Beat in the egg white
  3. Sift the dry ingredients together into a bowl (I have no sieve. They turned out fine. You figure it out)
  4. Add a little at a time to the creamed mixture and blend together well to make a dough (if it was me mixing, I would have lumped in all the flour and gone mixing mad. Sas was very good and methodical and followed the instructions. It depends how patient you are)
  5. Wrap the dough in cling film and chill in the fridge (the dough that is) for 30 minutes (or freezer for 10 minutes – WE DID THIS 😀 )
  6. Preheat the oven! 180C
  7. Roll out the dough onto a floured surface, about 5mm thick (my biscuits varied so much from batch to batch. They all taste awesome)
  8. Use cookie cutters to cut out your biscuits and pop them on a baking tray. If you want to make hanging biscuits, now would be the time to use a drinking straw to pop a hole near the top of the biscuit.
  9. Pop into the oven for 10 – 12 minutes
  10. Allow to cool, and then DECORATE 😀

My mum says this will make about 30 biscuits. I have no idea. I didn’t count.

So… How did we get on? Well, I have a variety of cutters (not as many as I want though!) including woodland critters from IKEA and dinosaurs from the Natural History Museum

We went bonkers. We made buttercream icing, and applied liberally to the biscuits like a couple of sugar hungry children. And after we were done? We ate the rest of the icing.

MAGIC.

Just a small selection of our efforts. Sas and Matt took a box of animals home to enjoy 🙂

And what’s that on the bottom left? OH YES. IT’S A FOX.

You need to get baking. What are you still doing here?

6 thoughts on “Baking with dinosaurs

  1. I have been nomming them at work with my tea and they are amazing! I ate the hedgehog with black spikes today, tomorrow I am looking forward to doing moose stuff…

    Like

    • Yay! Glad you likey. That’d be due to your biscuit mixing prowess 😀
      I made the other biscuits yesterday – whilst they’re tasty (ARGH I LOVE VANILLA) the dough is a lot softer so when you bake them they expand quite a bit and don’t hold their shape so well.

      Not to worry. They will be EATEN all the same XD

      Like

  2. Pingback: Christmas: Pirate Booty « Unravelled

  3. Pingback: 100! « Unravelled

Leave a Reply

